Can I get work without being able to speak Spanish at first?

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
Adski76

Can I get work without being able to speak Spanish at first?

Postby Adski76 » Wed Jul 04, 2012 6:01 am

Hi, I am from London and am looking to move to Lima, possible around the Miraflores region with my Peruvian wife. I was wondering a few things that I hope you might be able to help me with.

1- If we moved would I gain a automatic work visa being a peruvian spouse?

2- I currently am unable to speak Spanish (but will start learning shortly), what are the chances of being able to find work? I am a qualified squash coach and have also worked within facilities management for 5 years.

3- What is the average living costs for this area (how much would we need to earn in US Dollars to have a ok lifestyle)

Any help would be greatfully received

Adam

sunflower
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Can I get work without being able to speak Spanish at first?

Postby sunflower » Wed Jul 04, 2012 12:48 pm

Being married to a Peruvian you can apply for a Visa Residente Familiar para el caso de casado con peruana. See here http://www.digemin.gob.pe/servicios_inm ... entes.html. You get a so called Carné de Extranjeria with which you are allowed to work. It's not the same as applying for a work visa.