Hoping to Move to Peru to teach English, suggestions

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
tessfn

Hoping to Move to Peru to teach English, suggestions

Postby tessfn » Tue Sep 11, 2012 3:49 pm

I was hoping to get any words of advice or suggestions when it comes to finding a English teaching position in Peru particularly Lima. At this point I am a total beginner about Peru, however I am really enthusiastic to learn about a new culture and country.
My partner and I are recent college graduates and are looking to spend some time abroad again.
He was a Spanish major so he has that background and I am hoping to learn, as it would be a useful tool to have coming from Southern California.
When it comes to getting a job is it something that can be arranged internationally or is it better to do it in person in Peru?
Should we look into doing any of the English teaching certifications or from your experience is it unnecessary?
Any schools, positions or jobs you know of right now?
Any suggestions on finding a apartment or housing?
Really any information helps but I figured I would post a topic while doing my homework.

Tess

chi chi
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Hoping to Move to Peru to teach English, suggestions

Postby chi chi » Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:23 pm

Good teachers are always needed in Peru but competition is tough. Many more people are applying than there are jobs available.

The biggest burden will be getting a workvisa. You must be able to find a school that will be able to sponsor you.
To get a good job with reasonable working conditions at one of the better schools, then a teaching qualification and good references will be a must. I often see jobvacancies for teachers in ElComercio but they require qualifications.
With just experience, it will be tough, although not impossible.

Many teachers work illegally but they usually get paid very little and often work many hours just to make ends meet.