Looking at moving to Lima, Peru

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
jcartwright_

Looking at moving to Lima, Peru

Postby jcartwright_ » Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:47 am

Hey!

Im a BSc graduate from Oxford Brookes, studied IT Management for Business, and I am looking into ways to move across the atlantic to Peru. I am currently learning Spanish, I have a basic understanding of the language from frequent visits to Spain to see my partner (who is Spanish and now living/working in Lima) but I am currently really trying to improve my level of proficiency.

I currently have a pretty good job in Oxford working as an IT Project Manager, however I have been considering the possibility of taking a lesser job to really immerse myself in the Spanish-Peruvian language and culture, seeing as I am still early in my career at 24. I also think this would be a good way to get my Spanish up to the level required to apply/take on jobs that are relevant to my degree and field of expertise.

Really im looking for any advise on moving to Lima, Peru, places to look for jobs and potential accommodation, how likely it is that I would find work as just an English Speaker, anything along these lines.

The more information I can get, the better equipped I will be when making this decision!

Thanks in advance, I look forward to hearing from you =]

Jon

Jalapenomel
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Looking at moving to Lima, Peru

Postby Jalapenomel » Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:49 pm

I spoke no Spanish when I got here, and after a couple of months doing the English tutoring hustle, I found a job teaching at an international school. However, the pay is much much lower then what I was used to in the States, so keep that in mind.

Good luck!
sbaustin
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby sbaustin » Fri Jun 21, 2013 9:49 am

jcartwright_ wrote:Hey!