General info on what to do to get a job in IT in Peru!

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
DanielGent
Silver Member
Silver Member

General info on what to do to get a job in IT in Peru!

Postby DanielGent » Mon Jul 07, 2014 4:31 pm

Hi everyone,

Thought I would do a post on here as the forum is pretty interesting and I just wanted some general advice. Please give me some grief if this is duplicate information! Sorry it's probably quite long as well as it's general mind dump. Haven't met ANY other gringos in the same situation to help me out on this.

Have been backpacking for the last year in Latin America after escaping from the UK and I have no intention to return there anytime soon. I quite like Peru and Lima so I would like to stay here for a while and get a job. I have a degree in Computer Science and have spent the last 5 years programming (so please no "you could work as an English teacher" advice). Had a look online and it appears there's absolutely loads of work in my field. Loads.

Spent as little time in gringo environments as possible so, while my Spanish is far from perfect, it's really not bad for being here a year, and I figure as long as I look for a job with a more international firm that says "Ingles Basico Necesario" my native English should make up for whatever I lack in Spanish (and all IT based stuff is in English as I've found out while trying to brush up online in Spanish on IT)

My questions are based around this:

I've got about 3 weeks left on my visa. I'd already read that you can't extend inside Peru anymore but i went to the immigration office in Lima anyway just to put myself at ease before getting on a bus for 20 hours. They said it can't be extended, but it's no problem paying a fine. Personally I don't like the idea of having an out of date tourist visa in case anything happens. I can imagine the police and my insurance company wouldn't be so happy with that.