Inheritance in Peru

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
sarah003

Inheritance in Peru

Postby sarah003 » Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:47 pm

I am married to a Peruvian Immigrant who has property in Peru. We made a 'separation of goods' contract before marriage. He has 2 children born in France from a previous marriage. I am a Peruvian resident. We have built another house on his land with my money also. In case of his death, what will happen to his property (and goods?) and the house which I have also invested in? I am worried that it will go to the government if they do not see there is a true inheritor. Thanks for any advise.

panman
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Inheritance in Peru

Postby panman » Sat Jul 19, 2014 12:43 am

sarah003 wrote:I am married to a Peruvian Immigrant who has property in Peru. We made a 'separation of goods' contract before marriage. He has 2 children born in France from a previous marriage. I am a Peruvian resident. We have built another house on his land with my money also. In case of his death, what will happen to his property (and goods?) and the house which I have also invested in? I am worried that it will go to the government if they do not see there is a true inheritor. Thanks for any advise.

As much as I hate using them, you need to speak to a lawyer. I don't think there's anyone here qualified to give you true professional advise on such a delicate matter.
Last edited by panman on Sat Jul 19, 2014 1:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
captcosmic
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby captcosmic » Sat Jul 19, 2014 11:56 am

There is a lawyer who answers questions at times on this board. ABEJORRO is his username. Peruvian inheritance law is based on old Spanish law. But like the above post I would pay a qualified lawyer and take his advice.
argidd
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby argidd » Mon Jul 21, 2014 10:33 am

Definitely consult a lawyer.