Debit Card Smart Chip issues in Peruvian Banks

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
tupacperu
Gold Member
Gold Member

Debit Card Smart Chip issues in Peruvian Banks

Postby tupacperu » Wed May 13, 2015 11:47 am

A little while ago a member of EP had an issue with using the new Smart Chip Debit card. MY new Credit Debit cards are starting to be renewed with the smart chip. Anyone know if this issue has been resolved with Peruvian ATMs? Has anyone been successful withdrawing money from an ATM with the new cards?

Thanks

panman
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Debit Card Smart Chip issues in Peruvian Banks

Postby panman » Wed May 13, 2015 3:49 pm

I've been using my chipped UK Barclays debit card for several years without problems, other than at Scotiabank. The ATM's regularly said that my bank did not respond to the request made, for this reason I no longer bother with them.
My MBNA chipped credit card has always worked without problem, I buy fuel with it every month and use it for larger purchases rather than carrying cash, yet my MBNA American express card is useless, as was my old Amex gold. Both are chipped, yet I only had success in using them in a hotel I used to stay at in San Isidro, Oh, and someone at a hotel in Tacna, where I was staying, managed to book a return flight to Santiago on my Amex card, yet I still couldn't use it to pay my hotel bill. :lol:
TonyLeslie
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby TonyLeslie » Thu May 14, 2015 1:27 am

Been using my chipped cards from Australia without any problems. Stopped using Scotia Bank ATM's though because they now add a $15.00 extra charge for withdrawals. I have just finished some renovations in our department and used the cards at many places like Decor Centre, Sodimacs, Oeschle and others with no difficulties. If anything, I think they process quicker than the non chipped variety, but that's only my opinion.
teamoperu
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby teamoperu » Thu May 14, 2015 5:35 pm