Cost of living in Peru

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
Arroz con Pollo
Gold Member
Gold Member

Cost of living in Peru

Postby Arroz con Pollo » Mon Jun 06, 2005 10:35 am

I am considering a move to Lima to be with the girl of my dreams (how romantic, hah!). Anyway, night and day my thoughts are obviously directed at living expenses and income. I am a programmer and can develop anything from web sites, online shopping carts or desktop applications. I am hoping I can freelance for mostly American clients from Lima. I am most interested in what I could expect my living expenses to be based on my lifestyle.

I plan to live in Miraflores or Barranco. I need a 2-3 bedroom apartment and high speed internet. So my expenses would be rent, electric, water, internet, food, and of course, girlfriend. My initial estimates are around 12-15k/year to live a decent lifestyle. So I assume I would only need to make $30,000/year on my business to live and save money.

Can anyone help me along here? Perhaps tell me what I could expect to spend living approximately? It would be a great help if anyone is in the IT field and can shed some light on Lima opportunities there. It is my assumption, however, that working for a Lima business will not be the way to go so I'm primarily focussing on self employment.

Thanks for the help!

Gar-vera
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby Gar-vera » Thu Jun 09, 2005 5:41 pm

I am a US citizen married to a Peruana since 2001. We live in the States. Based on what I've seen in my visits to Peru and what my wife tells me about income/cost-of-living in Lima, your estimates sound very reasonable and accurate to me. I think you could live well on 15K, and save the other 15K, provided you watch what you spend most of the time.
david_bxl

Postby david_bxl » Fri Jun 10, 2005 5:46 am