Internet Speed & Reliability

This is a place for people who are operating a business in Peru, or who are planning on starting one.

Moderator: sbaustin

jpt2005

Internet Speed & Reliability

Postby jpt2005 » Mon Aug 23, 2010 12:58 pm

Hi there,

Well I'm considering relocating to Lima or perhaps a smaller city within the next 6 months. I work as a web developer and designer and I would need reliable high speed internet access. My question is, dear readers, how does internet access to compare to north america(I'm in Toronto, Canada). While I expect it's not as fast...is it reliable and fast? How long does it take you to download an 800 MB movie on average? I'm considering Lima/Cuzco/Arequipa, but I'm betting the it will have to be Lima because there may be better service there(please comment).

Thanks in advance!

PTTurboe
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Internet Speed & Reliability

Postby PTTurboe » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:55 am

4 Mb is about as fast as you can get. I have TelMex and am in Lima. It is pretty fast during the day but slows down after school time (4pm) until about 7:30pm.

I am not sure if that link worked:

Download 3.76Mb/s

Upload .31Mb/s

Ping 413 ms
PTTurboe
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby PTTurboe » Tue Aug 24, 2010 8:56 am

When I upload a website (full or new) I use Claro. I have a 3.5Mb USB Key.
americorps
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby americorps » Tue Aug 24, 2010 9:34 pm

TelMex has a 10 mega now available for home, but it is expensive, 500 Soles a month.
PTTurboe
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby PTTurboe » Wed Aug 25, 2010 9:57 am

Really?????

Count me in - that is my business....
Arroz con Pollo
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby Arroz con Pollo » Fri Sep 10, 2010 9:24 am

americorps wrote:TelMex has a 10 mega now available for home, but it is expensive, 500 Soles a month.

VERY limited availability. I live in a populated area of Miraflores but it's not available in my building :cry: :cry: :cry:
Arroz con Pollo
Gold Member
Gold Member