Stuck in the Visa Process (to the US) for my Peruvian Husband

Answers to your qestions about moving to, and living in, Peru,
Jlu

Stuck in the Visa Process (to the US) for my Peruvian Husband

Postby Jlu » Thu Jan 02, 2020 10:41 am

Dear Expats ,
I was married to my Peruvian in August and was able to file for his US Visa (I-130) in Lima because I am a resident in Peru. The process was incredibly fast! In four weeks the petition was approved. He received his case number three weeks later. We were cruising doing his paperwork online, went through the visa application and the DS-260 completed. UNTIL we needed to send supporting documents (financial evidence, police reports) to the NVC and I sent it to the US because the evidence had to be in one packet and I couldn't find anywhere online to upload these documents. 8 weeks later, the US NVC said, wrong place... try the US embassy in Lima. The Visa Unit doesn't have an operator to talk to. I've emailed them and they said just make an interview appointment... and I said but my supporting documents have NOT been submitted.
Does Anyone have any similar situation or advice if we should just make an interview appointment without submitting these supporting documents?

THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!

J

jumpinjack
Gold Member
Gold Member

Re: Stuck in the Visa Process (to the US) for my Peruvian Husband

Postby jumpinjack » Thu Jan 02, 2020 11:29 am

Jlu wrote:Dear Expats ,
I've emailed them and they said just make an interview appointment...

What part of "make an interview appointment" do you not understand?
Jlu

Postby Jlu » Thu Jan 02, 2020 12:10 pm

Thanks for your assistance.
Alpineprince
Gold Member
Gold Member

Postby Alpineprince » Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:26 am

Similar experience here. In my case the way I read it is I have to wait for the NVC to give me the appointment.
MEStout

Postby MEStout » Fri Jan 17, 2020 10:30 am

Jlu wrote:Dear Expats ,